Thanks to the generosity of community members dedicated to the scholastic development of area students, scholarship funds have been established to help local students continue their education and expand their talents and dreams.

The Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation holds fourteen scholarship funds. Some of these funds are making scholarships now, and others will be making scholarship awards in the near future.

Alberto Moreno Memorial Scholarship Fund

Amy Elizabeth Kelbel Scholarship

Anna Funk Memorial Scholarship Fund

Baiardi Family Foundation Scholarship Fund

Barry Potter/HOPE Scholarship Fund

Bay Harbor Foundation Scholarship Fund

C. W. McClellan Scholarship Fund

Thomas Dale Sr. Memorial Scholarship Fund

Janet and Richard Gorman Scholarship Fund

Graduate Studies Fund

Hillcrest Scholarship Fund

Little Traverse Association of Home Builders Building Industry Career Scholarship Fund

Mary McClutchey Amacher Scholarship Fund

Olofsson Family Scholarship Fund

Paul and Mary Smarks Scholarship Fund

Petoskey Area Business and Professional Women’s Scholarship Fund

Applications for scholarship awards will be available from your school’s guidance counselor or this website from mid-January to early April each year. Most applications have the same deadline in mid-April, but please pay special attention to the “Application Information” section within the description of each fund. We encourage you to work with your school counselor when preparing scholarship applications.


You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader to download this file.

Once you open our Scholarship Program packet, please look at the scholarship index to see which scholarship fund(s) pertain to you. Please read all instructions and the detailed descriptions of each scholarship fund to learn more about the eligibility criteria and selection criteria before you complete the application.

The Annual Bob Schulze Poetry Contest

Bob Schulze was a long-time summer resident of the area north of Harbor Springs who loved the woods and the beach, and loved to write poetry. As a boy in Springfield, Illinois, Bob won a writing prize that sparked his lifetime interest in writing.

The Schulze family decided to use funds given for Bob’s memorial to start a poetry prize open to youngsters of middle school age, whether in the local Emmet County schools, home school or summer visitors. The grand prize for the winning entry is $100. In addition, there are prizes for winning entries from each participating middle school and from the Emmet County libraries. An advisory committee made up of members selected by the Schulze family will choose the winning entries.

The deadline for entries in the Seventh Annual Bob Schulze Poetry Contest will be in November, 2006. 

Here are the results from the Sixth Annual Bob Schulze Poetry Contest.  We received 98 poems in November, 2005 from six Emmet County middle schools.  Every student who entered the contest should be contratulated for their effort!!  The award ceremony took place at St. Francis Xavier School on Thursday, March 23, 2006.

Grand Prize

Ginny Bonnee, St. Francis Xavier School

“Special Bond” (click on the title to read her poem)

Runner Up Awards

Mariah Sweeney, St. Francis Xavier School

Holly Laser, Littlefield Middle School
“Middle School”

Rachel Morris, Harbor Springs Middle School
“Save Her”

Sarah Grosskopf, Harbor Light Christian School

Claire Audia, Petoskey Middle School
“Think Like A Fudgie”

Amanda Brilley, Pellston Middle School
“I Wish I Could Be”

Honorable Mention Awards

Jolie McCarty, Harbor Springs Middle School
“Sea Storm”

Emily Ford, Harbor Springs Middle School
“Our World”

Drew Dean, Harbor Light Christian School
“A Very Lovely Place”

Erin O’Keefe, Harbor Light Christian Middle School

Suzannah Simon, Harbor Light Christian School
“Two Brown Eyes”

Tara Mangham, Petoskey Middle School

Hannah Harris, Pellston Middle School
“I Miss You”

Stephanie Temple, Pellston Middle School
“The One Who Left”

Congratulations to all and thank you to St. Francis Xavier School for hosting the award ceremony this year!