Philanthropy: hard to say…cool to do! (cu-da-doo)

The 2005-2006 Youth Advisory Committee (YAC) is made up of 23 students from the middle and high schools in Emmet County. Thanks to a matching grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, the Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation was able to establish a Youth Fund (a $1 million dollar endowed fund). The YAC is responsible for making grant recommendations from the Youth Fund to benefit young people in our area.

YAC members for 2005-2006 are:

John Bailey 
Benjamin Cole 
Aimon Dwan 
Maggie Hackman       
Jennifer Hofbauer
Ben Laser III   
Todd Maurer
Paul Murray      
John Pickering
John Ramer*
Annika Rettstadt
Kyle Ronquist
Stacey Spalding           
Peter Wendland 
Ally Woodside

* John Ramer is also a voting member of the Community Foundation’s Board of Trustees.


Each spring we look for 8th or 9th grade (including home school) youth from Emmet County to join our YAC.  Click <<here>> for more info and the application.


Are you a former member of the Petoskey-Harbor Springs Area Community Foundation YAC?  If so, please email David Jones, YAC Advisor.  We have an email listserve of YAC Alumni and we would love to add you to the list.  With your email on the list you will be kept up-to-date on current activities and events of interest to YAC Alumni and you’ll learn what some of your YAC Alumni friends are up to now!!  Former YAC members are doing great things in our community and around the world. 

To learn more about Michigan youth as grantmakers, visit the Michigan Community Foundation’s Youth Project.